Skip to content

Bangkok or bust

October 31, 2009

Hello everyone, thanks for taking the time to check out my blog, benjamin3.

Traveling and prepping is always a bit of a mission with seemingly endless considerations.  Hmm, this insurance pays $10000 if I lose a toe, but this insurance will get me to the hospital in helicopter.  Nice.  Will a 210-dernier fabric stand up to the unforgiving baggage huckers?  Will this vaccine keep me healthy if I’m rolling in the wet leaves of the jungle floor?  Lonely Planet, Rough Guide, Wikitravel, Reader’s Digest – my god, does it end?  No. No it doesn’t.  Between that and all the other chaff out there sometimes the best thing you can do for yourself is make an offering to your tourism deity, click “Payment Conformation” and hope for the best.  Bring it on, Thailand.

The phrase “wing and a prayer” comes up at an alarming rate when I tell my friends and family about this trip.  I leave Monday, Nov 2nd and I’ll be gone until August 3rd, next year.  I don’t have a place to go, nor a job to work, but it all makes perfect sense in my mind.  Where would the fun be otherwise?  The plan is to travel south into the beach and island community where I will solicit myself as a SCUBA instructor.  I’ve budgeted a little under a month to get by until I NEED a job.  Wish me luck.

Special thanks to my family for your support and for putting up with me all along the way.  None of this would have happened without you.  Thanks to the good folks at Float ‘N Flag for helping me become an instructor and a better diver.  Thanks to all my friends helping me keep my life in order and for your cheers.

I hope you enjoy the posts and pics to come, as I enjoy writing and posting them.  I figure this is my last hurrah before I decide to grow up, at least a little bit.  Might as well make it a good one.
*sigh* I hope this all works out.

Cheers

From → Posts

One Comment
  1. jenny mook-sang permalink

    way to go, ben. it’s nice to have someone out there through whom i can live vicariously. make my alternate life a good one, kid. jenny ms

Leave a Reply

